How old should you be to get a dog?

With a responsible adult's support and commitment, 10 is a good age to be able to get a dog. However, some responsibilities will still have to be taken care of by an adult, including arranging for pet sisters, signing for $ emergency care, walking in the dark or in unknown areas, etc.