What is the sorting hat?

A fictitious object in JK Rowling's series Harry Potter. The sorting hat is a talking black cone shaped hat that would be placed on children's heads, and it would read their characteristics and "sort" them into one of four houses for the fictitious school Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.