How does a dreamcatcher catch bad dreams?

It is believed that the centre of the dream catcher, which is like a spider web, holds all the nightmares and negativity in it (just like insects get stuck in a spider web) and let go of all positive dreams and thoughts through the gliding down feathers to the sleeping person below.