What is the broadway show chicago about?

In 1920s Chicago, Roxie Hart, murders a faithless lover. Roxie and another murderer, Velma Kelly, are both headline hunters seeking to capitalize on pre-trial publicity for the sake of acquittal and stage careers. The story is told through a succession of vaudeville acts.