What does the sharpness enchantment do in minecraft?

Sharpness is an enchantment for a sword, which can also be applied to axes. It is one of the most common enchantments. Sharpness makes the weapon do extra damage; for example, level one will turn an iron sword's amount of damage dealt with the equivalent of a diamond sword's.