What is memorex?

In 1971 Memorex Audio Cassettes were featured In commercials with Ella Fitzgerald recording a note that shattered a glass. The Memorex tape was played back and the recording also broke the glass, then asking "Is it live, or is it Memorex?", the company’s slogan used through the 1970s and 1980s.