Is there a difference between baking powder and baking soda?

Baking soda is used in recipes that also include an acidic ingredient, such as cream of tartar, buttermilk, or citrus juice. Conversely, baking powder is typically used when the recipe doesn't feature an acidic ingredient, as the powder already includes the acid needed to produce carbon dioxide.

---

Baking soda is pure sodium bicarbonate. Baking powder is sodium bicarbonate which contains starch and cream of tartar as an acidifier.

---

Baking soda contains one ingredient, sodium bicarbonate. However, Baking powder contains sodium bicarbonate, monocalcium phosphate and either sodium acid pyrophosphate or sodium aluminum sulfate.

---

Baking soda contains one ingredient, sodium bicarbonate. However, Baking powder contains sodium bicarbonate, monocalcium phosphate and either sodium acid pyrophosphate or sodium aluminum sulfate.