Can i substitute regular sugar for brown sugar?

Yes. You can replace the brown sugar called for in a recipe with an equal amount of granulated sugar. Brown sugar is nothing more than granulated sugar with a bit of molasses added to it, so it's possible that you may notice a subtle change in the taste and moisture content.