What's the difference between acrylic and tempura paint?

Acrylic paint is permanent while tempera is washable. Tempera becomes discolored over time due to its lower lightfastness compared to acrylic. Other differences are acrylic has a thicker consistency, dries into a glossy, stiff texture, and is more preferable on expensive materials.