Why did men wear wigs in the seventeen hundreds?

In the eighteenth century Louis the thirteenth of France commenced the trend when he started wearing a wig to hide his receding hairline, and Louis the fourteenth continued the trend. During that time monarchs were considered fashion leaders, so all nobility copied their king.