What was the most expensive piece of art ever sold?

Arguably the most widely publicized art sale in history was the auction of Leonardo da Vinci’s Salvator Mundi, which raked in more than $450 million at Christie’s New York in 2016. After a drawn-out 19-minute long bidding war, Salvator Mundi became the most expensive artwork ever sold at auction.