What elements are in stainless steel?

Stainless steel is created from iron-based alloys that contain a minimum of 11% chromium, which prevents the iron from rusting, and provides heat-resistance. Stainless steel may also include the elements carbon, nitrogen, aluminum, silicon, sulfur, titanium, nickel, copper, selenium and molybdenum.