What does by valent mean?

What does by valent mean? What does bivalent mean in biology? During the prophase of meiosis I, homologous chromosomes pair and form synapses. The paired chromosomes are called bivalents. The bivalent has two chromosomes and four chromatids, with one chromosome coming from each parent.