Where does the word chelsea come from?

Chelsea was first a place name of Old English origin, and the most common theory of its meaning is chalk landing place, "chalk wharf". The Synod of Chelsea at Chelchith in 787 is often identified with Chelsea, London; but the first firm record is of a manor at Chelsea before the Norman conquest.