What's doctor seuss a real doctor?

Dr. Seuss: real name, Theodor Seuss Geisel, wasn't a doctor of anything. He added the “Dr.” to his penname because his father had always wanted him to practice medicine. An honorary doctorate was granted to him by his alma mater, Dartmouth, in 1956.