What's the highest u. v. index number?

In 2003, a world-record UV index of 43.3 was detected at Bolivia's Licancabur volcano. The UV index is used to forecast the strength of the sun's ultraviolet rays. A radiation detector left on the 19,423-foot-tall picked up the extreme spike in UV-B radiation.