What is the book that the statue of liberty is holding?

The Statue of Liberty is holding a stone tablet on which is inscribed July 4, 1776 in Roman numerals. This is the date of the US Declaration of Independence

---

The thing which appears to be a book is not a book it's a tablet, also known as a tabula ansata. Liberty holds a torch in her right hand and a tablet in her left. The tablet shows the inscription roman numerals of July 4, 1776, the date of the adoption of the Declaration of Independence.