How do you use a spoon to open a can?

It is not a good idea to use a spoon to open a can. It is not sharp enough to pierce the lid without using a great deal of force. A can opener should be used, either electric or manual. If one is not available, a knife can be used to open a can but needs to be done so very carefully.