What's the difference between a tornado warning and a tornado watch?

A tornado watch means there is a possibility of a tornado. A tornado warning means a tornado has been spotted.

---

Watches are issued by the Storm Prediction Center for counties where tornadoes may occur. The watch area is typically large, covering numerous counties or even states. Tornado Warning: Take Action! A tornado has been sighted or indicated by weather radar.