Why are dust bunnies called dust bunnies?

Because they look like a furry little animal.

---

No one knows for sure, but it might have something to do with the fact that they're fluffy, quiet and tend to multiply rapidly! If static charges build up, dust bunnies can become attracted to each other, resulting in large “super" dust bunnies!