What is the subject of the boys in the boat?

The Boys In The Boat by Daniel James Brown takes place during the Great Depression of the 1930s. It is about nine boys from the pacific northwest and their quest to overcome all odds. The boys in the boat proved that even the ordinary can accomplish the extraordinary if they put their heart to it.