Where did the phrase suit yourself come from?

Some sources say that the phrase “suit yourself” began to appear around the 1800s, but there is evidence that the phrase itself is much older. The Oxford Dictionary says that the phrase was used in the 1500s in Britain with the meaning of to please yourself.

---

Meaning "make agreeable or convenient" is from 1590s. Meaning "provide with clothes" is from 1570s; that of "dress oneself" is from 1590s;