What is the definition of chlorophyll?

Chlorophyll is a green photosynthetic pigment found in plants, algae, and cyanobacteria. Chlorophyll absorbs mostly in the blue and to a lesser extent red portions of the electromagnetic spectrum, hence its intense green color.