What's the shield stand for?

These days, S.H.I.E.L.D. stands for "Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division," but it previously also stood for "Strategic Hazard Intervention Espionage Logistics Directorate" and, originally, "Supreme Headquarters, International Espionage, Law-Enforcement Division."