How many years do you have to go to school to be a veterinarian?

After completing a 4 year degree, students may pursue a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program. This takes four years to complete, generally divided into 2-year segments. The first segment typically consists of classroom instruction while the last two years focus more on clinical practicums.program