Can you compost paper towels?

Paper towels not filled with grease or chemicals will decompose quickly in your compost bin. They are considered a brown or carbon rich material and can substitute for leaves if you are running low. A paper towel with dirt, water, or plant-based food is perfectly welcome in your compost bin.