How long does it take light to travel to earth?

It takes 8 minutes and 20 seconds for light emitted by the Sun to reach Earth. In contrast, it takes approximately 4 years and 3 months for light to travel from the nearest star system, Alpha Centauri, to Earth - a distance of 25.8 trillion miles.