How did devil's food cake get it's name?

Angel’s Food cake is a sponge cake made with no fat and which uses egg whites to fluff the cake up. Devil’s Food cake is a dense, rich, decidedly high-fat chocolate cake, which may be one reason for it's name: it's so much less healthy!