Why is spongebob yellow?

SpongeBob Yellow is inspired by his “enthusiasm, playfulness and fun-loving nature” and has been chosen as “a luminous golden hue that reflects the energy of the sun, radiating joy and happiness, and sparking imagination,” according to Laurie Pressman, Vice-President, Pantone Color Institute