How much is a farthing in american money?

In today's currency the penny is the smallest coin in circulation, but in Colonial America there were two smaller coins. The farthing was equal to 1/4 of a penny. The word farthing translates to mean a fourthing of a penny. Two farthings was equal to a halfpenny coin, or half penny.