Is tomato a fruit or vegetable?

Tomatoes are as sort of editable berries and are considered fruit, although they are often mistaken for vegetables.

---

Technically, the tomato is a fruit since it contains seeds and develops from a flower. However, cooks and nutritionists have always considered it a vegetable.