Why do dogs chew on their paws?

Dogs that chronically bite or chew paws or legs are experiencing more than just a typical itch. It could be that your dog has developed an allergy or is suffering from a bug bite, wound, or fungal infection. The chewing behavior is also linked to anxiety due to being left alone for long periods.

---

One of the common reasons is Allergies caused by an environmental allergen, like pollen, mold or mildew and some food ingredients. Another reason is skin diseases or sometimes a thorn, pebble or other foreign object is lodged in or between the paw pads. Fleas, ticks & mites also cause this behavior.