Why do dogs chew on their paws?

Dogs that chronically bite or chew paws or legs are experiencing more than just a typical itch. It could be that your dog has developed an allergy or is suffering from a bug bite, wound, or fungal infection. The chewing behavior is also linked to anxiety due to being left alone for long periods.