Why is there a baby formula shortage?

The current formula shortage is traced in part to a contamination induced shutdown at a key manufacturing plant. The Abbott Nutrition facility in Sturgis, Michigan, which produces much of the United States supply of baby formula, shut down in February, bringing production lines to a grinding halt.