What will happen if the sun explodes?

Once the Sun has consumed all the hydrogen fuel in its core, it will reach the end of its life. For a few million years, it will expand into a red giant, puffing away its outer layers. Then it'll collapse down into a white dwarf, and slowly cool down to the background temperature of the Universe.