Why do honey bees make honey?

Honey is a food they use during winter when they can't get out to look for other food sources.

---

Honey bees make honey as a way of storing food to eat over the cooler winter period, when they are unable to forage and there are fewer flowers from which to gather food. Honey is ideal for bees - it is full of nutrients and is a great energy food, because it is high in sugars.