What is the year c. e. mean?

Common Era (CE) is a method used to identify a year. It means "a year in our time". Before Common Era (BCE) is the system for the years "Before the Common Era". BCE uses the same numbering as BC (Before Christ). "CE" and "BCE" are placed after the year number.