Which side of aluminum foil should you use?

Since aluminum foil has a shiny side and a dull side, many cooking resources say that when cooking foods wrapped or covered with aluminum foil, the shiny side should be down, facing the food, and the dull side up.

---

There is no real difference. The shiny and less shiny sides are just a product of how the foil is manufactured. Contrary to folk lore, it makes no difference in cooking which side faces the food. Ovens cook mostly by convection which is not impacted at all by how shiny the surface is.