Is the black sea really black?

No it's just a regular-looking sea. The sea was first named by the ancient Greeks who called it "Inhospitable Sea." The sea got this reputation because it was difficult to navigate, and hostile tribes inhabited its shores. Some people say storm waves sometimes look black, though.