How old are books?

Depending on what you call a "book", books have been around for either 8000 years (dates of the earliest known clay tablets with writing), or 2400 years (date of the oldest known hand-bound codex), or 1150 years (date of the oldest known block-printed book). They've been around for a while.

---

The oldest dated print book was written sometime in 868 CE.