What's a car manufacturer?

A cars manufacturer is the company who builds and sells it. General Motors builds and sells their cars under the Chevrolet, Buick, GMC and Cadillac brands so those are all GM cars. The manufacturer also holds the liability for the warranty that comes with the car and responsibility for any recalls.