What is the difference between a traditional i. r. a. and a roth i. r. a.?

With a Roth IRA you contribute after tax dollars, your money grows tax free, and you can generally make tax and penalty free withdrawals after age 59 and 1/2. With a traditional IRA you contribute pre or after tax dollars, your money grows tax deferred, and withdrawals are taxed as current income.