What does one pound equal in cups?

Question is unclear - pound is a unit of weight; cup is a unit of volume. Depending on material density, one cup of something can weigh less than one pound OR several pounds. To say that 16 ounces of weight equals 2 cups of volume (8 ounces/cup) could be incorrect since weight is no volume.