What is australia's city of light?

Perth. In 1962, Perth residents and businesses left on their lights, shone torches to the sky and lit lanterns to generate as much light as possible – John Glenn commented on the brightness from space and Perth became known as The City of Light.

---

Perth is Australia’s ‘City of Light’ due to its residents and businesses leaving their lights on so that in 1962, astronaut John Glenn could see the lights from Perth during his historic orbit of earth.