Was john wayne in world war two?

While John Wayne acted in many WWII films, he was exempt from military service due to his age [34 at the time of Pearl Harbor] and his family status, classified as 3-A, family deferment. Which means that if the sole provider for a family of four were drafted, it would cause his family undue hardship