What was the first pharmaceutical company?

Merck in Germany was possibly the earliest entity to be considered a pharmaceutical company. Originating as a pharmacy founded in Darmstadt in 1668, it was in 1827 that Heinrich Emanuel Merck began the transition towards an industrial and scientific concern, by manufacturing and selling alkaloids.