How long were neil armstrong and buzz aldrin on the moon?

The lunar module Eagle touched down at the Sea of Tranquility at 4:17pm, Eastern time, on July 20, 1969. It was the first mission to land men on the surface of the Moon and return them safely to the Earth. Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin spent 22 hours on the moon.