Can you eat the rind of a butternut squash?

according to bon appetit dot com, size is a good thing to consider when deciding whether or not to eat squash skin. The smaller the squash, the more likely the skin is to be thin and soft, but we recommend peeling kuri, kabocha, or butternut. It's just going to be more pleasant.