What does a tornado do?

A tornado is a violently rotating column of air extending from the base of a thunderstorm to the ground. Tornadoes can destroy well-made structures, uproot trees, and hurl objects through the air. The US averages 1000 tornadoes annually, and fewer than 100 total fatalities or 0.1 deaths per twister.