Can shrimp tails go down the garbage disposal?

After a big seafood dinner, we can see how it would be tempting to throw those shells down the disposal, but don't do it! They have a damaging effect to your garbage disposal similar to the one inflicted by bones. Even shrimp shells are too tough— and, frankly, very smelly.