How did sour cream get its name?

From Wikipedia. Sour cream is obtained by fermenting regular cream with certain kinds of lactic acid bacteria. The bacterial culture sours and thickens the cream. Its name comes from the production of lactic acid by bacterial fermentation, which is called souring.